World Cup 2010 – Day #28 – betting review

9 Jul

With the end in sight and only 2 more games left in South Africa, time to check on the state of some of our bets.

The semi finals produced a small loss of 1.5 points despite 2 decent winning bets including a 3 point max bet on Holland.
I think a case of over staking and too many bets per game occurred here, as with the end approaching I want to try and win big.
Instead need to settle back and select as before.

A quick look at my spreadsheet shows surprising that Match Odds has been my most profitable at 11.2 points. Both teams to score with 8.6 and Half Time result with 7.03 points profit have also worked well for me. Specials such as offsides etc have also produced 9.5 points profit but mainly thanks to my first wiining bet of hitting the woodwork.
A bit lucky with that one, so not an area to pursue for now.
Not surprising really that goal scoring and correct score betting has had the worse results, though I was surprised I’d played 18 goal scorer bets! Only 3 have won.

My ante post is looking a bit better with the e/w part of Forlan’s top goalscorer looking good and maybe with a couple of goals on Saturday, the big prize.
Considering backing Klose as well as there are normally goals in 3rd place play-off.
Other ante posts still running is Holland or Spain to go out on penalties, goal before 79 seconds and 5 own goals. Times running out on the last two and with only two og’s now Sneijder’s been credited with the goal against Brazil, I’m not holding out much hope.
My only other chance is Holland to score most goals but they are one goal behind Germany. I’m hoping the Germans aren’t that bother about what normally is a goalfest in the 3rd place playoff.

I’m going to try and boost my ante post/tournament bets further with a dabble on the Golden Ball award.
Basically this is the man of the tournament voted for by the press.
Wesley Sneijder has had a great tournament so far, so should edge it over any Spanish player.

3 points Wesley Sneijder to win Golden Ball @ 2/1 (Paddy Power)

Leave a Reply

